Time travel has long been a staple of science fiction. Removing the bonds of time on a story allows for many interesting possibilities, but it also presents complicated problems and paradoxes. In this collection, featuring stories from the 1880s to the 1960s, we are taken to the remote future and back to the distant past. We are trapped in an eternal loop and met with visitors and objects from the future. We come face to face with our past selves, and experience the chaos of living out of sync with everyone else in the universe. These are just some of the thrilling narratives to discover as we unwind the constraints of time.

New release available in store and online.

OTD in 1938, Orson Welles broadcasts his radio play of H. G. Wells’s The War of the Worlds, causing anxiety in some of the audience in the United States. Death comes from the sky in this thrilling War of the Worlds graphic novel adaptation! Several days ago, projectiles from the Red Planet began to rain down on Earth. Professor Ogilvy of the small town of Ottershaw, England, is skeptical of theories that it is an alien attack—until a meteor crashes near his home. Inside the crater, he discovers a giant cylinder that can only be the work of a superior civilization—the intentions of which are not peaceful. From the extraterrestrial capsule emerges a tripod, an immense machine of death that is soon joined by many others, with the sole intention of exterminating all life on Earth.

H. G. Wells’s science fiction classic The War of the Worlds has been adapted several times for the big screen … More

Born OTD in 1929, American novelist writing more than 20 novels, short stories, poems and much more, Ursula Kroeber Le Guin. “A long, long time from now, in the valleys of what will no longer be called Northern California, might be going to have lived a people called the Kesh. But Always Coming Home is not the story of the Kesh. Rather it is the stories of the Kesh – stories, poems, songs, recipes – Always Coming Home is no less than an anthropological account of a community that does not yet exist, a tour de force of imaginative fiction by one of modern literature’s great voices.”

Available in store and online.

Born OTD in 1866, English author, writing dozens of novels, short stories, and works of social commentary; and often referred to the ‘father of science fiction’, H.G. Wells. ‘The War of the Wolrds’ is one of the earliest stories to detail a conflict between mankind and an extraterrestrial race. The novel is the first-person narrative of both an unnamed protagonist in Surrey and of his younger brother in London as southern England is invaded by Martians.

At the turn of the nineteenth century, a group of friends listen to the adventures of a man who claims … More

Born OTD in 1920, Amercian author and screenwriter predominantly known for writing the iconic dystopian novel ‘Fahrenheit 451’, Ray Bradbury. “It’s the week before Hallowe’en, and Cooger and Dark’s Pandemonium Shadow Show has come to Green Town, Illinois. The siren song of the calliope entices all with promises of youth regained and dreams fulfilled . . . And as two boys trembling on the brink of manhood set out to explore the mysteries of the dark carnival’s smoke, mazes and mirrors, they will also discover the true price of innermost wishes . .”

Available in store and online.

Born OTD in 1929, American writer of science fiction, horror and mystery novels, Sheri S. Tepper. She is primarily known for her feminist science fiction, which explored themes of sociology, namely gender and equality, as well as theology and ecology. Often referred to as an eco-feminist of science fiction literature, Tepper personally preferred the label eco-humanist.

A moving, compulsive science fiction novel from one of the best writers in the field. When the human settlers arrived … More

Born OTD in 1947, African-American science fiction author, Octavia E. Butler. In 1995 the first science-fiction writer to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. “Butler’s masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo. ‘[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human.”

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave. When Dana first meets Rufus … More

Get ready for a trip to the fourth dimension in this thrilling H. G. Wells graphic novel adaptation! At the turn of the 19th century, a group of friends listen to the adventures of a man who claims to be the world’s first time traveler. His story begins in the year 802,701. Earth is inhabited by the Eloi, descendants of men, who live in harmony, spending their time playing and eating fruit in an immense Garden of Eden. But beneath this paradise lies a terrible secret, for another species dwells in the depths of the earth: the Morlocks.

These red-eyed, apish creatures thrive in darkness, and every night they rise to the surface to kidnap and feed on … More

OTD in 1938, Orson Welles broadcasts his radio play of H.G. Wells’s ‘The War of the Worlds’, causing anxiety in some of the audience in the United States. No one would have believed in the last years of the 19th century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man’s; that as men busied themselves about their various concerns they were scrutinised and studied. Yet across the gulf of space, intellects vast and cool & unsympathetic regarded this earth with envious eyes, and slowly and surely drew their plans against us.

With H.G. Wells’ other novels, The War of the Worlds was one of the first and greatest works of science … More