Born OTD in 1920, Amercian author and screenwriter predominantly known for writing the iconic dystopian novel ‘Fahrenheit 451’, Ray Bradbury. “It’s the week before Hallowe’en, and Cooger and Dark’s Pandemonium Shadow Show has come to Green Town, Illinois. The siren song of the calliope entices all with promises of youth regained and dreams fulfilled . . . And as two boys trembling on the brink of manhood set out to explore the mysteries of the dark carnival’s smoke, mazes and mirrors, they will also discover the true price of innermost wishes . .”

Available in store and online.

Born OTD in 1929, American writer of science fiction, horror and mystery novels, Sheri S. Tepper. She is primarily known for her feminist science fiction, which explored themes of sociology, namely gender and equality, as well as theology and ecology. Often referred to as an eco-feminist of science fiction literature, Tepper personally preferred the label eco-humanist.

A moving, compulsive science fiction novel from one of the best writers in the field. When the human settlers arrived … More

Born OTD in 1947, African-American science fiction author, Octavia E. Butler. In 1995 the first science-fiction writer to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. “Butler’s masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo. ‘[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human.”

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave. When Dana first meets Rufus … More

Get ready for a trip to the fourth dimension in this thrilling H. G. Wells graphic novel adaptation! At the turn of the 19th century, a group of friends listen to the adventures of a man who claims to be the world’s first time traveler. His story begins in the year 802,701. Earth is inhabited by the Eloi, descendants of men, who live in harmony, spending their time playing and eating fruit in an immense Garden of Eden. But beneath this paradise lies a terrible secret, for another species dwells in the depths of the earth: the Morlocks.

These red-eyed, apish creatures thrive in darkness, and every night they rise to the surface to kidnap and feed on … More

OTD in 1938, Orson Welles broadcasts his radio play of H.G. Wells’s ‘The War of the Worlds’, causing anxiety in some of the audience in the United States. No one would have believed in the last years of the 19th century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man’s; that as men busied themselves about their various concerns they were scrutinised and studied. Yet across the gulf of space, intellects vast and cool & unsympathetic regarded this earth with envious eyes, and slowly and surely drew their plans against us.

With H.G. Wells’ other novels, The War of the Worlds was one of the first and greatest works of science … More

Watch as the line between man and animal is blurred in this thrilling H. G. Wells graphic novel adaptation! Shipwrecked in the Pacific Ocean, Edward Prendick is rescued only to find himself on the strange island of Dr. Moreau. Hidden away on his remote island, Dr. Moreau has been conducting bizarre experiments for over ten years, genetically modifying animals to give them each a conscience and the ability to speak.

These “Beastmen” obey a very precise set of rules called The Law, which forbids them to exhibit any primitive behavior … More

When London is lost beneath the rising tides, unconscious desires rush to the surface in this apocalyptic tale. Fluctuations in solar radiation have melted the ice caps, sending the planet into a new Triassic Age of unendurable heat. London is a swamp; lush tropical vegetation grows up the walls of the Ritz & primeval reptiles are sighted, swimming through the newly-formed lagoons.

Some flee the capital; others remain to pursue reckless schemes, either in the name of science or profit. While the … More