Summerwater is a devastating story told over twenty-four hours in the Scottish highlands, and a searing exploration of our capacity for both kinship and cruelty in these divided times. On the longest day of the summer, twelve people sit cooped up with their families in a faded Scottish cabin park. The endless rain leaves them with little to do but watch the other residents. A woman goes running up the Ben as if fleeing; a retired couple reminisce about neighbours long since moved on; a teenage boy braves the dark waters of the loch in his red kayak. Each person is wrapped in their own cares but increasingly alert to the makeshift community around them.

One particular family, a mother and daughter without the right clothes or the right manners, starts to draw the attention … More

Between Beirut And The Moon is the exuberant and hilarious debut from the hugely talented young Lebanese author, Naji Bakhti. A young boy comes of age within the confines of post-civil-war Beirut, with conflict, and comedy lurking round every corner. Adam dreams of becoming an astronaut but who has ever heard of an Arab on the moon? He battles with his father, a book-hoarding journalist with a penchant for writing eulogies, his closest friend, Basil, a Druze who is said to worship goats and believe in reincarnation, and a host of other misfits and miscreants in a city attempting recover from years of political and military violence.

Adam’s youth oscillates from laugh out loud escapades, to near death encounters, as he struggles to understand the turbulent and … More

Irina obsessively takes explicit photographs of the average-looking men she persuades to model for her, scouted from the streets of Newcastle. Placed on sabbatical from her dead-end bar job, she is offered an exhibition at a fashionable London gallery, promising to revive her career in the art world & offering an escape from her rut of drugs, alcohol, & extreme cinema. The news triggers a self-destructive tailspin, centred around Irina’s relationship with her obsessive best-friend, & a shy young man from her local supermarket who has attracted her attention…

  BOY PARTS is the incendiary debut novel from Eliza Clark, a pitch-black comedy both shocking and hilarious, fearlessly exploring … More

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . . In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames…

..Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. From the Trojan … More

Author of The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead, brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in 1960s Florida. Elwood Curtis has taken the words of Dr Martin Luther King to heart: he is as good as anyone. Abandoned by his parents, brought up by his loving, strict & clear-sighted grandmother, Elwood is about to enroll in the local black college. But given the time & the place, one innocent mistake is enough to destroy his future, & so Elwood arrives at The Nickel Academy, which claims to provide ‘physical, intellectual & moral training’ which will equip its inmates to become ‘honorable & honest men’. In reality, the Nickel Academy is a chamber of horrors, where physical, emotional & sexual abuse is rife, where corrupt officials & tradesmen do a brisk trade in supplies intended for the school, & where any boy who resists is likely to disappear ‘out back’.

Stunned to find himself in this vicious environment, Elwood tries to hold on to Dr King’s ringing assertion, ‘Throw us … More

Soon come, pre order here, David Quantick’s ‘Night Train’, is a science-fiction horror story like no other. A woman wakes up, frightened and alone – with no idea where she is. She’s in a room but it’s shaking and jumping like it’s alive. Stumbling through a door, she realizes she is in a train carriage. A carriage full of the dead. This is the Night Train.

A bizarre ride on a terrifying locomotive, heading somewhere into the endless night. How did the woman get here? Who … More

In this remarkable, inspiring collection of essays, acclaimed writer and critic Olivia Laing makes a brilliant case for why art matters, especially in the turbulent political weather of the twenty-first century. Funny Weather brings together a career’s worth of Laing’s writing about art and culture, examining its role in our political and emotional lives. She profiles Jean-Michel Basquiat and Georgia O’Keefe, interviews Hilary Mantel and Ali Smith, writes love letters to David Bowie and Freddie Mercury, and explores loneliness and technology, women and alcohol, sex and the body.

With characteristic originality and compassion, she celebrates art as a force of resistance and repair, an antidote to a frightening … More

“A return – this seems to be one of the things I’m expected to write about. And now that I return, now that I find myself here, I haven’t even left the airport & I’m already toying with the idea of writing a return, perhaps just to surrender.”Nine stories. Nine ways of not being at home. Nine confrontations to the limits of fiction & memoir. Jolts is a playful & honest exploration of the joys & sorrows of lives lived in-between places. A collection that travels across time, space, & language, in order to deliver the gospel of the Latin American short story.

Sdrigotti rises to peak form with JOLTS, following a series of cult publications – Shitstorm, Dysfunctional Males and Triptico. With … More

A figure emerges from a painting to pursue a bitter vengeance; the last transmission of a dying man haunts the airwaves, seeking to reveal his murderer; a treasure hunt disturbs an ancient presence in the silence of a lost tomb… From the vaults of the British Library comes a new anthology celebrating the best works of forgotten, never since republished, supernatural fiction from the early 20th century.

Waiting within are malevolent spirits eager to possess the living and mysterious spectral guardians – a diverse host of phantoms … More

The terrifying presence of a restless spirit on the top deck of a London bus; a possession at the bridge table on a cruise up the Nile; a nightmare encounter with druidic sacrifice in the innocuous setting of a terraced back garden . . . E F Benson’s “spook stories” pushed the boundaries of the ghost story tradition by exploring new, previously “out of bounds” settings–such as public transport and even hauntings by daylight–to frighten his readers from the 1890s to the 1930s. Benson delighted in twisting every idea and image and experimenting with the unexpected; this new collection of short stories from across his long career in writing draws together the most innovative, satisfyingly dark, and still resonant tales to thrill anew, and to give a clear picture of this playful master of the form, to whom many writers of supernatural fiction have been indebted.

This edition also features a detailed introduction containing the fascinating story of Benson’s life, and the never before-republished story “Billy … More