Born OTD in 1947, African-American science fiction author, Octavia E. Butler. In 1995 the first science-fiction writer to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. “Butler’s masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo. ‘[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human.”

Kindred1

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave. When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he’s drowning.

She saves his life – and it will happen again and again. Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them. And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it’s even begun.

Octavia E. Butler’s ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. What readers are saying about KINDRED: ‘It was written in 1979 but could have been written last year.

Available in store and online.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s